Tags

, , , , ,

I have pondered the meaning of depression for some time. In fact, I was depressed long before I even knew what the word meant or how to spell it. It wasn’t until one year ago that I realized medication for depression was not a punishment. It was a possibility.

And so, after much thought and discussion with my counselor, I decided to take the plunge. And you know what? It helps. A lot! I am still me. I have no side effects to speak of, other than more patience and a more positive outlook.

So, why is there such a negative aura surrounding depression? I think it’s for the same reason that people have a negative view of MS. It is misunderstood. Just because someone has MS does not necessarily mean that they have depression. Yes, the odds are high. But my depression began before the MS. I am not ashamed of this fact. Just because I have depression does not mean that I am depressed. It doesn’t mean I’m crazy either. It means that I have a chemical imbalance. Period.

So get over it.

 

